Home > Walking, Walks > Scafell Pike–The Hard Way

Scafell Pike–The Hard Way

Scafell and Scafell Pike – two mountains so close together and yet so far apart. Scafell is only 13meters lower than the tallest mountain in England, and yet it is probably visited far less frequently. They both have a rocky summit, although Scafell Pike is far more fractured than Scafell. While Scafell Pike is easily accessible from a number of directions, Scafell seems to have easy access mainly from the South West.

I had been up Scafell Pike twice as part of my Three Peaks attempt a couple of years ago, and once with Denise on a previous trip to the Lakes – when we were based in Langdale. However, I had never been up Scafell, so I was keen to remedy that. Denise knew I was looking forward to a long day and so suggested that we do our own thing on the third day of our holiday. While she went off to explore Harter Fell I headed towards Scafell.

From the campsite we both walked east along the road, while Denise carried on towards Doctor Bridge I turned North towards Eel Tarn and Stony Tarn. Fighting my way up through the heather I soon emerged into the clearing around Eel Tarn. Although it was still early when I got there I was surprised to see a couple by the tarn shores, as I walked further around the shore I spotted their tent tucked away. What a great place for a wild camp, especially on a bright sunny morning like today.

DSCF2116

Eel Tarn looking towards Scafell. The tent I saw was further round to the left.

The path on the map seemed to go almost all the way round the tarn. I headed more directly towards the mountains on the horizon, heading up Whinscales and on to Great How. From there I gained the stony path up to Horn Crag.

A short easy scramble took me to the top of Horn Crag, from where the top of Slight Side was a short, easy walk away. Even the final steep section of the path to the top of Slight Side was easier than it first looked.

DSCF2123

From the top of Slight Side, looking back to Horn Crag and down to Eskdale.

From Slight Side an easy walk along the ridge and a slight climb led me to the top of Scafell.

DSCF2121

Scafell in the back ground.

Before the final push to the summit of Scafell I found a sheltered spot in the rocks and had a spot of lunch.

I gained the summit of Scafell about 50 minutes after leaving Slight Side, sharing a few words with a couple that I had met on the way up to Horn Crag. Shortly after they left, heading down towards Burnmoor Tarn two young ladies reached the summit from the direction of Foxes Tarn, but that was it. I headed off towards Scafell Pike but turned down the scree slopes towards Foxes Tarn.

DSCF2131

Looking up the scree slope from near Foxes Tarn.

Having reached the tarn itself a fine, relatively easy scramble down the gill led me to the base of Broad Stand. It was great fun coming down, going up would offer a bit of hands on rock interest.

Another scree slop led up to the col beneath Mickeldore and some interesting rocky ground led up to the more popular Scafell Pike summit.

DSCF2134

From Scafell Pike looking back to Scafell. The impenetrable rock face is visible that stops the easy progress from one to the other. The corrie above Foxes Tarn is to the left of the image and Lord’s Rake is just visible to the right as a short dark cleft.

From the summit of Scafell Pike I headed North East toward Broad Crag and then South East down past Chambers Crag, another steep scree slope. I followed the route of Little Narrowcove keeping to the top of the grassy ridge. A small cairn marks the top of the gully to follow down to the valley floor. Although this was fairly steep it was probably easier going than trying to get down to the stream itself.

From there it was a pleasant walk following the river Esk as it winds its way across the Great Moss to the sheepfold near Sampson’s Stones.

eskdale pan 2

Looking back up the river Esk, with Sampson’s Stones on the left.

I cut across the corner to Scale Gill and from there back to the road via Taw House.

Total distance 20km. All photos on Flickr.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment