Home > Lichens, Shotover > More Shotover Flora – 20140712

More Shotover Flora – 20140712

On Saturday 12th July we paid another visit to our square in Shotover. We had two aims: to identify any plants we could find, particularly any that we may have missed on previous occasions, and to have a go at photographing some of the species we found.

Since time was spent taking photos as well as identifying plants the list of plant species is very short in comparison to other days. I also wanted to practice my use of the plan identity keys and so the whole process took even longer.

The plants I looked at were:

Prunella vulgaris

DSC_3215

Potentilla erecta

DSC_3224

Circaea lutetiana

DSC_3220

Rumex conglomeratus

DSC_3233

I also tried to identify a lichen that I found on a fallen twig. I think it may be Hypogymnia physodes or a Parmelia species, possibly P. acetabulum. But I may be completely wrong.

DSC_3250

Categories: Lichens, Shotover
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment